CHAIRED BY Andrea Heberlein, Pamela Smith

The Education Action Team is broken down into three strategy levels.  Members of each team have expertise in the following areas: prenatal care, pre-kindergarten, school mentorship and after school programs for grades K through 12, college preparatory programs, college and trade school programs.

Strategy One:

Enhance and expand quality, early education, Pre-K and childcare offerings in Lancaster.



Sarah Holland Office of Child Development & Early Learning

Jamie Reichenbach Luthercare for Kids

Jill Koser Community Action Partnership

Crystal Loose Cocalico School District

Tracy Brunke YMCA

Stephanie Thomas Early Childhood Innovative Connections

Brenda Hanthorn Lancaster-Lebanon IU 13

Mary Steffy Lancaster General Health

Strategy Two:

Strategy Two: Use community resources to equip, strengthen, and expand educational and supplemental offerings for elementary, middle, and high school students. 

Book stack image.png


Erin Conahan School District of Lancaster

Tim Shenk Lancaster-Lebanon IU 13

Milzy Carrasaco The Emerald Foundation

Tim Mahoney Millersville University

Ty Bair Advantage Lancaster

Karen Scholer Boys and Girls Club

Jim Schultz Lancaster Housing Opportunity

Crystal Martin School District of Lancaster

Strategy three:

Structure education, Pre-K through post-secondary, to increase connectivity with workforce needs and increase post-secondary completion using models proven by the Lumina Foundation's 75 Cities initiative. 

Untitled design (8).png


Sandy Strunk Lancaster County STEM Alliance

Cheryl Hiester Literacy Council of Lancaster-Lebanon

Marlyn Barbosa SACA (Tec Centro)

Dr. Ben Stiles Lancaster County Career and Technology

Marty Hudacs Lancaster County Career and Technology

Keith Yohn Lancaster County Career and Technology

Victor Ramos Harrisburg Area Community College

Barbara Randazzo Elizabethtown College

Ryan Sauder Franklin and Marshall College

Mary Yager Lancaster Bible College

Zoann Parker Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology

Joel Martin Franklin and Marshall College

Julia Kielmeyer Franklin and Marshall College

Ann Gaudino Millersville University

Jeremy Raff School District of Lancaster

Marc Torick Pennsylvania College of Art and Deisgn

Dan Jurman Community Action Partnership

Cathy Rychalsky Workforce Development Board

Valerie Hatfield CareerLink

Nick Mohler Pennsylvania College of Art and Design